Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Students and Families Experiencing Homelessness

    The goal of Seattle Public Schools Homeless Program is to keep students in school. We also want to assist families in staying involved in their children's education and reducing risks they may face.

    You and/or your family are considered "homeless" if you are:

    • Living in a shelter, motel, vehicle, or campground
    • Living on the street
    • Living in an abandoned building, trailer, or other inadequate accommodation
    • Doubled up with friends or relatives because you can't find or afford housing

    Students who are experiencing homelessness have the choice of remaining in the school you have been attending at the time you became homeless or enrolling in a school near your temporary housing. In either case, you are guaranteed transportation, even between school districts.

    For enrollment and transportation support, please contact your school or call us. School contact information is available in our School Directory.

    Know Your Rights

    • The right to continue in the school you were in before you became homeless, if you want to;
    • The right to continue in the same school you are in if you are homeless now;
    • The right to transportation to school, according to current District transportation guidelines;
    • The right to enroll and attend classes without giving a permanent address;
    • The right to enroll and attend classes even if you are missing documents usually required for enrollment;
    • The right to attend the school of your choice while a dispute over your enrollment is being resolved, or, if the school district sends your child to a school other than the school of your choice, you have the right to a written explanation and the right to appeal that decision.

    Office hours:
    Monday - Friday:  7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

    Main Office:
    206-252-0660
    mkv@seattleschools.org

    Tyra Williams
    McKinney-Vento Liaison/Program Manager
    206-252-0857
    twilliams@seattleschools.org

    McKinney-Vento Team:

    Jolene Taylor
    McKinney-Vento Coordinator
    206-252-0955
    jetaylor@seattleschools.org

    Paula Murray
    McKinney-Vento Family Support
    206-252-0629
    pemurray@seattleschools.org

    Angel Graves
    Central Regional Support Specialist
    206-252-0840
    acgraves@seattleschools.org

    Mehret Tekle
    NE & NW Regional Support Specialist
    206-252-0952
    metekle@seattleschools.org

    Antonious Dean
    SE Regional Support Specialist
    206-252-0768
    aldean@seattleschools.org

    Kayla Blau
    West Regional Support Specialist
    206-252-0769
    meblau@seattleschools.org